Just Do Something

A lot of the people I know are giving up on New Year’s Resolutions.

That’s not something that bothers me. I haven’t set a concrete resolution since 2011. What bothers me is that they’re slowly letting their dreams and goals die. The people who were going to change the world in 2012 haven’t done anything since January of the same year. I haven’t set a concrete goal, but I’ve still been doing something: NaNoWriMo (’12 and ’14), recording tunes, sharing tunes (here and here), going to college, making new friends, and getting kickass grades.

We’re a little bit young to let the world suck up our hope that quickly.

Increasingly though, I find myself surrounded by apathy. The world sucks, but nobody cares, so long as they aren’t personally affected by it. Even when those same people start packing on pounds and losing their energy to poor time management, they have very little desire to change their lifestyle.

But this New Year’s I’m going to fight back, and I hope you’ll join me. My strategy is simple:

Just do something.

Choose one lifestyle change, and everyday, take one tiny step in the direction you want to go. Don’t despair if you miss a day. After all, you’re only taking tiny steps. Just wake up in the morning, and get back on track with another step.

You could set a concrete goal – one year I decided I was going to learn one song per month. Or everyday you could just do something. Set your homepage to Ultimate-Guitar. Subscribe to a Youtuber that teaches songs for guitar. Buy a stand and keep your guitar within arm’s reach. Most importantly: play that sucker as often as you can.

The most important part is to not get stuck setting a goal or despairing that you failed to reach a goal. Do something, do anything to keep you on a track towards that end goal. Today, it doesn’t matter if you’ve tried in the past and failed. It doesn’t matter if you’re scared or don’t know how.

Don’t get stuck doing nothing. After all, apathetic is a pathetic way to be. And don’t freak out if you don’t know how. Make finding out a part of your tiny steps in your desired direction.


If you have any questions, let me know in the comments. You can always send thoughts, suggestions, and questions to justanotherhalfling@gmail.com as well 🙂 Thanks for reading!

Published by

justanotherhalfling

Musician, writer, sophomore in college extraordinaire, Just Another Halfling is... actually quite your average kid, and content to remain so.

Leave a Reply

